Japan: The Food Diary Part 3

We last left off in Nara, in the Ryokan eating fish heads. So let us fast forward to Nara, in the Ryokan, eating….drum roll…

More fish parts!

More fish parts!

Day 6: Nara to Kamakura

Breakfast: A traditional Ryokan breakfast. Things were a bit more recognizable than they were at dinner (probably because we drank tea and milk instead of the two pitchers of sake like we had with dinner). Look at the picture, there is a salad (maybe not my average breakfast food but still, very plainly, a salad). There was also a porridge, a tasty pickled plum and some seasonal mushrooms. I don’t normally care for mushrooms but I was being such a sport (see: consumed a fish head) that I gave them a go and was pleasantly enjoying them. That was until Marcus pointed out their EYEBALLS!!!

Foiled again! Damn Fish!

Fooled and Foiled and Fish! Oh My!

There was still enough tasty food to sustain us through all of our tourist spots for the morning.

Lunch: No pictures because, well both Marcus and I decided we needed something hearty. We are meat and potato kind of people so naturally we ended up at an Italian restaurant. He had something like a giant omelet filled with rice. I had Pasta Carbonara. It was some of the best restaurant carbonara I have had (gloriously pea free, peas DO NOT belong in Pasta Carbonara, so just stop it). I think I even had an iced tea. I paid my local food dues, I was going to celebrate with spaghetti and iced tea!

Dinner: We made it back to Kamakura. We went out with David again to a cool spot on the beach. I may have had a hamburger or a pizza…who can remember all of these things?

Day 7: Kamakura/Hiking in Hakone

Breakfast: We went to a very traditional breakfast at Denny’s. Oh did I say traditional? I meant, uhm, shameful. We needed it though, Marcus was about to take me on the steepest hike of my life and I’d burn off every calorie of the two Japanese sized breakfasts that I ate.

Marcus contimplating my upcoming touture hike.

Marcus contemplating the upcoming torture hike.

Lunch: A combination of snacks I had packed from home: crasins, granola bars and chicken salad lunch-to-go (I’m a prepared kind of person, when it comes to food) and a variety of fruit (Pringles are a fruit, no?) that we bought from a market. We made it to the top, after much whining on my part, and now it was time to feast!

The "trail"

The “trail”

God, we are Adorable!

God, we are Adorable! I guess it was worth it.

Dinner: By this point I could barely move. David very graciously offered to pick up some sushi and bring it home for all of us. He had quite the adventure of his own and ended up with deeply discounted sale sushi for $5 a box from a department store. It turned out to be the best sushi he’d ever found for takeout in the area all for $15 total for all three of us. That was such a good ending to the day!

Day 8: Tokyo/Fujisawa

Lunch: Found a really great hamburger place near a train stop in Tokyo (really useful information there, you can totally find it now, right?). Ate delicious hamburger, celebrated the spread in popularity of hamburger. Contemplated drinking a Zima (pictured above) because we thought Zima’s didn’t exist anymore, it could have been like eating a DoDo Bird.

2nd Lunch: Starbucks! Don’t judge. It is the best place to see the worst place to be when the zombie apocalypse starts. Ordered and almond based drink.

Can't get it everywhere...

Can’t get it everywhere…

The Herd! Run for the Starbucks!

The Herd! Run for the Starbucks!

Dinner: Met David in Fujisawa and he took us to a delicious yakitori restaurant where we had our own (separated by sliding doors) table/room. I’m so sad that we didn’t get photos of the food. We were having too good of a time to document it.  Yes, that is a thing. One very surprising thing I really liked was as David put it, “chicken butts.” I guess that’s all the description that is needed. I could live off of yakitori. Meat? On a Stick? I’m in! Chicken Butts? Why not?

Trip Totals:

Very Japanese Foods: 7-23, depending upon how one credits eating of tiny fish for breakfast.

Foods that aren’t Necessarily Japanese but we had it in Japan: 4, I’m adding both the pasta and the train stop hamburger because they were both better than the versions I typically get at home.

Meals Eaten out of Necessity without regard to “the experience:” 9, although the place on the beach was a lovely experience just not a “look at me eating Japanese food” approved one.

See the glorious conclusion of the food diary with Part 4, coming soon.

3 thoughts on “Japan: The Food Diary Part 3

  1. Pingback: Japan: The Food Diary Part 2 | not exactly hip

Leave a Reply

