Fiber Challenge: Day 2

I’ve been using this website to figure out the fiber content of non-packaged foods. It seemed legit, the smiling man on the home page whom I presume is the GI doctor gained my trust. I like this site in particular because I don’t have to look at other information like calories or fats. I’m easily overwhelmed and a standard listing of all the nutritional facts convince me that it’s not healthy to eat anything except broccoli and I just don’t want broccoli for breakfast.  It’s not at all surprising that people who are seriously on diets (not just a one week health binge to prove their husbands wrong) struggle with too much information and too many mixed messages.

I have no previous knowledge about nutritional content of foods. I would not, though, consider myself completely clueless, I know that chicken McNuggets (as 100% tender as they are) are not good for me. However, I was really happy to learn that according to this “diet” where I only care about getting my 25g of daily fiber, french fries are on the menu! Thank you mixed messages and don’t mind if I do.

Day 2 Fiber Intake:

Breakfast: Frosted Mini Wheats and Strawberries- 7.6g

Lunch @ Applebee’s: Weight Watchers/Under 550 Lemon Parmesan Shrimp – 4g (Dang, I thought it would have been more, in fact if I had ordered the chicken tenders I would have gotten more fiber, I’m so confused.)

Dinner: Pot Roast, Mashed Potatoes, Carrots-9.2g (or close-ish)

Dessert: Cookie Dough Ice Cream with almonds and chocolate sauce- 5g (oh yeah!)

Total: 25.8 g (just made it)

Feeling: Slightly less bloated, convinced worrying about nutrition information just confuses one more, happy with another consecutive potty day.

Leave a Reply

